Governance Arrangements

Loreto Grammar School Governance and Members:

If you would like to contact a Governor, please address your correspondence care of Loreto Grammar School.

Foundation Governors:
Sister Bernadette Turtle IBVM

Sister Kathleen Hewitt IBVM

Mr Jim Lister – Chair

Professor Martin Ashley – Vice Chair

Mr Martin Bourke

Mrs Pat Brown

Mr Jonathan Hassall

Dr Justin McCarthy

Mr Vincent Sweeney

Headteacher Governor:
Mrs Jane Beever

Parent Governors:
Mrs Ruth Davies

Dr Tom Earnshaw

The governance of the Trust is defined in the Memorandum and Articles of Association together with the Funding Agreement with the Department for Education. All Trustees are members of the full board of Trustees and Directors of Loreto Grammar School Limited. A detailed Scheme of Delegation outlining governance arrangements is prepared and reviewed annually. In addition, Trustees are members of committees which report to the full board of Trustees/Governors/Directors. The board of Trustees/Governors/Directors meet once each term to receive reports from its sub-committees and manage its strategic objectives.

The Board has six sub-committees:
1. Chairs and Audit Committee:  Chair - Mr Jim Lister / Chair - Mr Vincent Sweeney (Audit/Risk) which meets at least termly to consider the strategic direction of the school, the internal controls, data protection and risk management;
2. Finance and Premises: Chair - Mr Jim Lister incorporating the Health and Safety subcommittee, which meets half termly to consider the academy’s budgets and financial performance, building and maintenance programme and other premises requirements;
3. Admissions and Pupil Welfare: Chair - Mrs Pat Brown which meets 4 times a year to consider the school’s admissions policy, to oversee the entrance examination for entry to Year 7, entry to other year groups including the Sixth Form. Any related admissions matters are considered by this committee. This committee also has responsibility to overview all matters of pupil welfare safeguarding and behaviour;
4. Curriculum: Chair - Professor Martin Ashley: which considers all matters relating to the curriculum offer in school considering national initiatives and challenging the school in terms of academic performance;
5. Staffing: Chair - Mr Vincent Sweeney: which considers all appointments, performance management and all staff associated policies; and
6. Ethos and Values: Chair - Dr Tom Earnshaw:  which ensures the day to day Catholic life of the school is celebrated and upheld.

Clerk to the Governors:
Trust GS Governor Services

Academy Members:
The members have a similar role to shareholders of a company and are the subscribers to the Memorandum of Association. The members are kept informed about Trust business so that they can be assured that the Governing Body is exercising effective governance. At Loreto Grammar School, our members are representatives of the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Loreto Education Trust and Board of Governors:-

The Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary (member since 2012) – represented by Sister Bernadette Boland IBVM.
Loreto Education Trust (member since 2012) – represented by Sister Patricia Goodstadt IBVM, as Chair. The Loreto Education Trust is responsible for the appointment of Foundation Governors.
Board of Governors (member since 2012) – represented by Mr J Lister, Chair of Governors (appointed as a named member on 3 July 2017). 


Register of Interests

Other Directorships

Other Governorships

Relationships to Staff

Date Signed

Sister Bernadette Boland IBVM

Teresa Ball International Solidarity Fund

Province Leader and Trustee of the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary (English Province)

None None 22/01/2021

Sister Patricia Goodstadt IBVM


Loreto Education Trust Loreto Sixth Form College None January 2021
Foundation Governors  
Sister Kathleen Hewitt IBVM Loreto Education Trust Trustee  None  25/09/2022
Sister Bernadette Turtle IBVM

Loreto Developments Limited

Loreto Education Trust

Loreto College (St Albans) 

Loreto Preparatory School

Loreto High School Chorlton

None 25/09/2022
Mrs Jane Beever

Vice Chair and Director - University Council Liverpool Hope University 


Director - St Joseph's MAT, Liverpool

Loreto English Education Network (LEEN)









Mr Martin Bourke None St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Stockport None 28/09/2022
Mrs Pat Brown None St Antony's Catholic College, Urmston None28/09/2022  
Mr Jonathan Hassall Public Role - Judge (Civil) County Court Wife works at Loreto as Invigilator on a casual basis. 02/03/2023
Mr Jim Lister (Governor and Member)

Tutor Trust Limited

Park Road Academy Primary School

None 27/09/2022
Dr Justin McCarthy

Loreto Education Trust

Stockton Heath Medical Servicecs Limited

Stockton Health Medical LLP

Kerasia Medical Limited

Trustee of St Joseph's Family Centre, Warrington















Professor Martin Ashley Your Healthy Mouth Limited None



Mr Vincent Sweeney None


None 08/03/2023
Parent Governors

Mrs Ruth Davies

Trustee of Loreto Parents' Association


St Joseph's Primary School


None 30/01/2023
Dr Tom Earnshaw

St John's Medical Centre - Partner 

Altrincham Healthcare Alliance - Primary Care Network Limited - Director


None 27/09/2022
ofsted logohe logohealthy logoscience logoTeen Tech Logoleading edge logointernational logogood schoolISM Silver Music 2017